2015 February News

Swim Canterbury West Coast has now released the 2015 Canterbury Swim Squad Criteria

Canterbury Squads Pathway 2015 Criteria

Well done to our Zonal team representatives


Male 15 & Under

Satori Dobbie – 1st 100m backstroke, 1st 100m butterfly, 3rd 200m backstroke and member of the 200m free relay team placed 1st

Women 15 & Under

Kaylie Jackson – 1st 100m breaststroke & 4th 50m freestyle

Lucy Jackson – 7th 100m freestyle, 8th 100m backstroke & 8th 50m freestyle

Please see below/attached for media release regarding Makos Zonal team. This includes three of our up-and-coming swim stars – the twins – Kaylie and Lucy Jackson as well as Satori Dobbie

Kaylie Jackson          Lucky Jackson

Satori Dobbie

– make sure you are cheering for them as you watch this exciting event LIVE!

Junior swim stars lead Makos in Zonal Championships

 The South Island Makos swim team has high goals to retain both the senior and junior titles at the New Zealand Zonal Championships next weekend.

The exciting one-day competition on 8 February in Auckland comprises four zone teams with each including 20 swimmers 15 years and under and 20 swimmers 16 years and over. The competition, which will pit the best of each age group from throughout the country, proved an outstanding success in his its debut 15 months ago.

Junior Pan Pacific team mates Andrew Trembath and George Schroder will provide strength to the men’s senior side as they represent the Makos for a second time.

The pair competed in Hawaii last year against some of the world’s top junior swimmers with Trembath having a credible fourth place finish in the 100m backstroke and Schroder finishing sixth in the 100m breaststroke.

Twelve of the 20 senior representatives will be making their second appearance at the Zonal Championships for the Makos including Emily Rennell and Thomas Heaton who were last time part of the junior squad.

Returning in 2015 for the junior squad is Caitlin Deans, Kyra Forrest and Satori Dobbie.

Forrest was a top performer at last year’s New Zealand Age Group Championships as she finished fourth in the individual medley tally.

The Makos team comprises of swimmers from 16 clubs throughout the South Island.

The 2015 Zonal Championships will take place at Auckland’s Westwave Aquatic Centre on Sunday 8 February and will be live on Sky Sport 4 from 5.00pm with 160 swimmers vying it out for their respective zones.

The 2015 Makos team is:

Senior: Michael Final (Orca), Christopher McFadden (Aquagym), Charles Porter (Aquagym), Thomas Heaton (Tasman), Cameron James (Neptune), George Schroder (Hokitika), Matthew Phillips (Wharenui), William Campbell (Wharenui), Andrew Trembath (Neptune), Jeremy Tasker (Neptune), Isobel Ryan (Oamaru), Carina Doyle (Neptune), Aleisha Ruske (Neptune), Sammy Winward (Aquagym), Ebony Maikuku (Jasi), Caitlin Delany (Tasman), Emily Rennell (Jasi), Kate Godfrey (Neptune), Sally McMath (Blenheim), Caitlin Rennell (Jasi).

Junior: Clara Foster (Nelson), Cecilia Crooks (Neptune), Caitlin Deans (Neptune), Lucy Jackson (QEII), Kaylee Jackson (QEII), Hannah Bates (Selwyn), Talya Harwood (Tasman), Kyra Forrest (Wharenui), James Buk (North Canterbury), Sam McKenzie (Tasman), Matthew Harford (Ashburton), Nicholas Pryde (Neptune), Satori Dobbie (QEII), Tame Govaerts (Zenith), Oliver Rayner (North Canterbury), Angus Syme (North Canterbury), Flynn Sinclair (Murihiku), Samuel Wardhaugh (Neptune), Lucy Gordon (Aquagym), Devon Familton (Neptune).


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *